top of page
Search

A MAN CALLED OVE BY FREDRICK BACKMAN: REVIEW


❤We always think there's enough time to do things with other people. Time to say things to them. And then something happens and then we stand there holding on to words like 'if'.❤


What a book! Full of emotions!🤗

Ove is a grumpy, quiet and stubborn man. He thinks that he is surrounded by idiots, with people who always disappoint him. He rebels every human advancement taking place during that time.


At the age of 59, he lost his job and misses his wife, Sonja who dies due to cancer just 6 months before. He reaches a point where he thinks that he had enough with his life. He’s fed up. And decides to end it all.


There is serious-mindedness to this book. But has lots of humor and cheeriness.


I simply adored this book. The writing style is clean and simple. The story is knotted with loneliness, with numerous disappointments. The last chapters deliver some unexpectedly emotional blows. A note of hope arises through the writing, fabricating it slowly with every small detail.


I cried reading this book. I parted with a man whom I have never met, yet a man I feel I know so well. A man I disliked in the beginning, yet a man I loved at the end. A man who spent his life inspecting everything. A Man Called Ove.


CONNECT WITH ME ON INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/the._bookarazzi/


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page